Awards Listings and Applications
CSHP BC Branch Awards Application Deadline
Continuing Education Travel Grant March 31
Compassionate Membership Grant
Pharmacy Awareness Month Award April 30
Pharmacy Practice Residency Award August 31
Publication Awards (Original Research/Review Article) August 31
New Hospital Pharmacy Practitioner Award August 31
Maria Machado Memorial Education Program Award September 30
Mentorship Award September 30
Meritorious Service Award September 30
Distinguished Service Award September 30
Recruitment Awards October 31
Future Professional Student Award November 30
BC Branch Doctor of Pharmacy Award -
Hospital Participation Award -
Past President Award -

To download application, click on respective award above. Submissions for all other awards should be sent to:
Awards Chair CSHP-BC Branch

CSHP Fellowship Program

Fellowships are awarded by CSHP National to practitioners who achieve excellence in pharmacy practice in organized health care settings.

In B.C, the following pharmacists have achieved fellowship status:
  • Shirin Abadi, Pharm.D.
  • Glen Brown, Pharm.D.
  • Mark Collins, B.Sc., M.Sc.(Pharm.)
  • Mary H.H. Ensom, Pharm.D., FASHP,FCCP
  • Robin Ensom, Pharm.D.
  • Luciana Frighetto, B.Sc.(Pharm.)
  • Patricia Gerber, Pharm.D.
  • Wendy Gordon, B.Sc.(Pharm.), Pharm.D.
  • Don Hamilton, B.Sc.(Pharm.)
  • David Hill, M.Sc., MBA
  • Peter Jewesson, Ph.D.
  • Zahra Kanji, Pharm.D.
  • Angela Kim-Sing, Pharm.D.
  • Fawziah Lalji, Pharm.D.
  • Tim Lau, B.Sc.(Pharm.), Pharm.D.
  • Shallen Letwin, Pharm.D.
  • Marianna Leung, Pharm.D.
  • Peter Loewen, Pharm.D.
  • Alan Low, Pharm.D.
  • Carlo Marra, Pharm.D.
  • Mits Miyata, B.Sc.(Pharm), ACPR
  • Dan Martinusen, Pharm.D.
  • Ron McKerrow, B.Sc.(Pharm.), M.B.A.
  • Bob Nakagawa, B.Sc.(Pharm.)
  • Brenda Osmond, Pharm.D.
  • Erica (Greanya) Otto, Pharm.D.
  • Nilufar Partovi, Pharm.D.
  • Karen Shalansky, Pharm.D.
  • Steve Shalansky, Pharm.D.
  • Sean Spina, Pharm.D.
  • Richard Slavik, Pharm.D.
  • Judith A. Soon, B.Sc.(Pharm.), Ph.D.
  • Rubina Sunderji, Pharm.D.
  • Suzanne Taylor, Pharm.D.
  • Louanne Twaites, B.Sc.(Pharm.)
  • Adil Virani, Pharm.D.
  • Peter Zed, Pharm.D.
Recent Award Winners

2015 Winners

Past President Award Dr. Doson Chua
Distinguished Service Award Mr. Bruce Millin
Meritorious Service Award Uncontested
Mentorship Award Dr. Peter Loewen
New Hospital Pharmacy Practitioner Award Dr. Lauren Hutton
Doctor of Pharmacy Award Mr. Jason Tan
Publication Award – Original Article Cheng W, Kiang TKL, Ensom MHH, et al.
Predictive performance of the Winter-Tozer and derivative equations for estimating free phenytoin concentration. Can J Hosp Pharm 2016;69 (4):269- 79.
Publication Award – Review Article Barry AR, et al.
Primary prevention of cardiovascular disease in older adults. Can J Cardiol 2016;32(9):1074-81.
Pharmacy Practice Residency Award
(Sponsor: Pfizer )

Ms. Emma Attfield (IHA)
Improving ICU clinical pharmacist handover process using a pharmacotherapy-specific tool: The HAndover Process in PharmacY (HAPPY) Study
Preceptors: Dr. Sean Gorman, Dr. Richard Slavik, Dr. Nicole Bruchet, et al

Ms. Katherine Boutin (IHA)
Development of intervention-related quality indicators for renal clinical pharmacists using a modified Delphi approach
Preceptors: Dr. William Nevers, Dr. Sean Gorman, Dr. Richard Slavik, Dr. Dan Martinusen

Ms. Renée Dagenais (LMPS)
Pharmacists’ Evaluation of Health Literacy Assessment Tools for Pediatric Patients and Caregivers
Preceptors: Dr. Jennifer Kendrick, Dr. Roxane Carr

Ms. Flora Yu (LMPS) Risk Evaluation of antiPsychotic Agents used In the eldeRly in-patients (REPAIR)
Preceptors: Dr. Vincent Mabasa, et al

Maria Machado Memorial Education Program Award St. Paul’s Hospital
Education for Medication in Transplant (EMiT)
Pharmacy Practice Award (Poster Competition) Dr. Tamar Koleba, Trevor Leggat, et al.
Environmental Sampling Pilot in Two Lower Mainland Hospital Pharmacy Sterile Compounding Areas
Hospital Participation Award
  • Small Hospital
  • Medium Hospital
  • Large Hospital

  • Ridge Meadows Hospital
  • Peace Arch Hospital
  • Children’s & Women’s Health Centre of BC
  • Pharmacy Awareness Month Award
  • Small Hospital
  • Medium Hospital
  • Large Hospital

  • Ridge Meadows Hospital
  • BC Cancer Agency – Vancouver Centre
  • Surrey Memorial Hospital Pharmacy and Neonatal & Pediatric Pharmacy
  • Future Professional Student Award
    (Sponsor: McKesson)
    Mr. Jarred Kelly
    Most Outstanding Recruiter of Active Members Uncontested
    Most Outstanding Recruiter of Student Supporters Award Geoff Martinson
    Recruitment Raffle Draw Winners
  • Ms. Karin Chisholm
  • Ms. Shelagh Martinson
  • Mr. Will Shum
  • Mr. Jackson Stewart
  • Continuing Education Travel Grant
    (Sponsor: Fresenius Kabi Canada Ltd.)
    Ms. Elissa Aeng, Ms. Jinny Cheng, Dr. Cesilia Nishi, Ms. Alice Wang

    The Awards Committee of the B.C. Branch of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists is responsible for promoting interest and submissions for the awards offered by the Branch to its members.

    Awards are generally presented at the Annual General Meeting of the Branch in November of each year.

    Select from the links below for: